A Visit To The Selidor Art Gallery – Featuring Shuri Dreamscape

Standard

When I was new to SL, the first really impressive thing I saw was a live music event held at an art gallery. Most people were dancing in front of the pianist’s stage but the music was streaming for the entire sim, so were were free to wander the nearby gallery too. I took my time enjoying the music and looking at each picture. It really felt to me just the same as viewing art in real life. Since then I have been very fond of SL art galleries and museums. Many of my friends consider a packed club to be the best entertainment SL has to offer, but I love the beauty and intent of a SL exhibit.

The Selidor Art Gallery opens today with a new artist, Shuri Dreamscape (flickr here:http://www.flickr.com/photos/shuri_/ ). I went to have a little looksee. I already know Shuri’s work from flickr so it’s great to see it promoted inworld too. There are so many talented photographers in SL, but she is one of my very favorites. The Selidor is a cute little gallery and it’s packed floor to ceiling with her best work.

Her art will be up from March 13th to April 13th and later today at 2pm she’ll be greeting visitors to the gallery. Although she could sell her photos, she’s generously decided to allow anyone to take them home for free (right click and select take copy). If you love her work she will accept donations. I left with a ton of new art for my walls!

One thing that impresses me about Shuri’s photos is that they are all done without the use of shadows. She proves that gorgeous photos don’t require the highest settings or the newest computer and graphics card. She shared a few tips with me when I complimented her posing and lighting. She often takes photos using animations, takes extra big photos so that she can crop them while keeping the quality, and wears a gentle facelight.

My dress is one of Hucci’s outfits at collabor88 this month. To match it I wore Suzie Q in earth – the earrings, bracelet and necklace set from Bliensen + MaiTai. I’ve modded it a bit, tinting some of the pink, purple and yellow gems to green. Just another reason I love mod items, it’s very nice to have the option to customize when you want a specific look.

Credits –

Lipstick: .:Glamorize:. Glamorous Fade – Teal

Hair: **Pocket Mirrors** Ava 2 Wavy Side Semi-Updo Black

Dress: ::HH:: Hucci O-Floral Maxi Dress SM – Foliage @ Collabor88

Jewelry: Bliensen + MaiTai – Suzie Q – earth

Shoes: N-core COQUETTE Platform “Turquoise”

Skin: al vulo!- Alice*  natural claveage cacoa @ Private Room Event

Eyes: Ibanez Ltd Edition Natural Eyes – Green/Grey

Location: Selidor Art Gallery

Leave a Reply

